top of page
  • Writer's pictureWLTL Radio

WLTL Competes for Awards


WLTL Staff at the 2019 Drury Awards

r is right around the corner, and to most that means cobwebs, zombies, and candy. But to us here at WLTL that means the anticipation that comes with the John Drury Awards. These awards are meant to honor students in high school radio broadcasting all over the country. This year, the Drury Awards received entries from 11 states and at least 16 different high schools. WLTL students submitted more than 50 entries for Drury consideration, and received the second highest number of nominations.

Since 2002, WLTL has been named the best station in the nation seven times.

The student’s work was completed in the 2021-2022 school year, which means some of our just graduated alum have the possibility to win! Names highlighted are those of alums. The John Drury Awards will be October 8th, stay tuned to see the results!

Check out our nominations below!

Best DJ:

-Michael Walsh, Katie Bayer, and Liam Watson

Best Newscast:

-Gabe Lazarski

WLTL News: March 24, 2022

-Gabe Lazarski

WLTL News: March 18, 2022

Best Speciality Music Show:

-Gabe Lazarski

Gabe's Music Retrospective

Best Public Affairs Program:

-Lilja Waliewski

A Day with Dr. Jen Tyrrell

Best Podcast:

-Matthew Walsh and Maggie Franz

So That's Why: Library Jacket

Best Sports Play-By-Play:

-Sam Viniard and Ray Waliewski

Lyons Township Basketball vs. Glenbard West

Best Sports Talk Program:

-Sam Viniard and Colin Meehan

WLTL Sports Debate:Offense vs. Defense

Best Radio Drama:

-Maggie Heflin and the LTHS Theater Department


It's Wonderful Life: A Radio Drama (Part 2)

Best Use of Social Media:

Staff Fact Friday

Best Website:

63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page